Butternut Squash Soup with Beet and Apple Relish

10 Nov


Hi Everyone!

A big thanks to www.foodpress.com for featuring the Bacon and Arugula Bread Pudding post!

Now, on to the business at hand. Butternut squash soup with beet and apple relish is a recipe that I have been making for a few years now. It is always the first thing I make when I can get my hands on some butternut squash. It is a sure sign that fall is here. The recipe is quick and a cup of this is a great crowd pleaser. The apple and beet relish adds crunch, color and plays very nicely with the earthiness of the squash. I adapted this from a Wolfgang Puck recipe. I have simplified it quite a bit so you can make this pretty easily with what you have in your pantry. His calls for cranberry relish, but those are hard to get your hands on in this part of the world, so I adapted the apple/beet mix. I used a little of Dai Due‘s Fireman’s 4 mustard to bind the apples and beets. That combo alone is out of this world and would serve well on a piece of toast with goat cheese, just sayin. The relish really cuts through the creaminess of the soup. My favorite trick in this recipe is steeping the rosemary in the milk. It adds a great depth of flavor and complexity to the soup. That idea could be adapted to many a recipe for a little twist.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Butternut Squash Soup

2 medium or 3 small butternut squash, halved

2-3 c. whole milk

3 sprigs fresh rosemary

1 t. cinnamon

salt and pepper

2 T olive oil

Heat oven to 375. Rub squash halves with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast cut side up until fork tender, about 30 minutes. While the squash is roasting, warm milk with rosemary submerged. Take care not to let the milk boil. When squash is roasted, let sit until cooled enough to handle. Remove rosemary from milk. Scoop roasted squash into a soup pot and add 2 cups of milk. Blend using hand blender (or put squash and milk into a blender) blend until smooth. Add more milk as needed to achieve desired texture. I like mine silky, so I typically always use all of the milk to blend.

Beet and Apple Relish

1/2 c roasted beets, small dice

1/2 c apples, small dice

3 T Dai Due Fireman’s 4 Mustard or other grainy mustard

Mix all ingredients together.

*To roast beets, I heat the oven to 350, toss beets with olive oil, salt pepper and sometimes when I feel like it, garlic. Wrap the mix in foil. Place on a sheet pan and roast for 45 minutes. The sheet pan is important, if the foil isn’t secure, it makes a big mess without the sheet pan. That is experience talking. Once the beets are cool, the skin slips right off. If working with red beets your hands will be HOT pink, which I always kind of love.

Challenge Update

We are two and half months in and going strong. Jo has continued perfecting the refried bean and I’ll tell you what, it takes more pork fat than you can imagine to make TacoMex caliber beans. She really did nail the recipe, but in the process, I think we burned out on beans. I have nearly involuntarily driven my car through House Pizzaria on a couple of occasions. I MISS THAT PIZZA!!! I have to admit though, that the seasonal change has been great for us in the way of veggies. I was going to freak out big time if I had to eat another bite of zucchini. I just plain maxed out on that. Hopefully by next summer I will be craving it again. The winter greens are a breath of fresh air and we are loving every minute of kale, arugula and spinach. Other than that, we are really enjoying the gorgeous weather. I am dreaming of biscuits and gravy, so stay tuned for that soon!

Thank you, thank you for reading!

Not That Martha

*Photography by Sarah Wilson, the bomb, photographer.

*Not a post goes out without the proof-reading expertise of my partner in life and writing, Jo Sugar. She is really sweet not to let me look a-fool in my writing.

7 Responses to “Butternut Squash Soup with Beet and Apple Relish”

  1. Codie November 10, 2010 at 3:44 PM #

    YES!! I love this one MP! I am totally gonna make it, with almond milk or cashew cream of course.. but dang girl you can throw together some food now!!!

    I love you sugar lips and am so loving this site! Keep it up mama, us wanna-be-chefs need good role models such as your fine self!

    mmmwwwuaah!

  2. Mother November 12, 2010 at 8:29 AM #

    This looks so good. I like the garnish idea, too!

  3. Mary Kathryn November 12, 2010 at 8:24 PM #

    I’m impressed…just sayin.

  4. Laura November 14, 2010 at 11:23 AM #

    Kevin, Caroline, and I are making this now. We will let you know how it turns out!

    • notthatmartha November 15, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

      Laura,
      How did it turn out? I can’t wait to hear! Thank you for reading and trying the recipe!
      XO to you and Kevin and Caroline

  5. Sally November 16, 2010 at 9:59 PM #

    Butternut squash can be very rich in a soup so I like the idea of lifting it with the relish. Beautiful colours too.

  6. blackbookkitchendiaries November 17, 2010 at 9:32 AM #

    this looks so yummy! i am in love with it.

Leave a Reply

