Sweet Potato Mash with Blue Cheese

19 Oct

Hi All!

The time for sweet potatoes has arrived! This is hands down my favorite preparation of said potato. I was led down this road, about this time last year, by my friend and über talented local chef, Michael Brantley. The salty and creamy blue cheese is soul satisfying when combined with the sweet orange tater. And it is a pretty dish. It goes well with anything from veggies to shellfish to chicken to pork to darker meats. This round I used Hopelessly Blue, a goat variety blue made by Pure Luck. This cheese is amazing on its own, but I love the way that the earthy goat cheese played with the sweet potatoes. And, any blue cheese will work well here. The milk is from Texas Daily Harvest and the kind that you have to shake up before you use it because there is honest to goodness cream on top! Prep and clean up are quick and easy. My family will be eating this for Thanksgiving and a few times before then. I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!

Sweet Potato Mash with Blue Cheese

2 lbs sweet potatoes, peeled (2 large or 3 medium)

2-3 oz blue cheese, crumbled

4 T butter

1/4-1/2 c. milk

salt and pepper

Cut the peeled sweet potatoes into 1/2 inch chunks. Start the chunks in cool, salted water, to help them cook evenly. Bring water to a boil and cook until fork tender. Drain potatoes and combine butter and 1/4 c of milk in potato pan. Melt over low heat. Once butter is melted, add potatoes back to the mixture. Mash with potato masher or a big wooden spoon. Add blue cheese crumbles, salt and pepper and mix. Here is where the extra milk comes in. If I am serving these right away, this yields the consistency that I like. But, if I am going to reheat these to serve them later, I make the potatoes a little looser (add more milk). I am serving them for dinner tonight, so I made them a little loose, and sprinkled more cheese on top. I will reheat them at about 300 degrees for 10 minutes. Its as easy as that.

Challenge update…

Although we went into this challenge with the agreement that we could partake at special events such as weddings and birthdays, I feel that I must confess that I had a piece of cake this weekend at my dear friend, Evan’s gorgeous wedding. It was perfect and delicious and I loved every single minute of buttercream and chocolate. Jo was stronger than I in that moment and stayed true to the challenge. It was worth it for me though. I couldn’t resist that cake. Also on the food front, Jo has been diligently working on a recipe for the perfect refried beans to alleviate some of our longing for Taco Mex. She is honing in on the right balance and soon, I think we will be able to satisfy the bean and cheese taco craving at home. When we do I will report our results here. Here is what you should know. It involves generous amounts of bacon. I celebrate bacon.

On the clothing front, this morning we flipped through the new J. Crew catalogue during breakfast and I am pretty sure there was something on every page that one or both of us coveted. That catalogue is now safely in the recycling and we are in the clear until the next round of shopping mags shows up.

As always thanks for reading!

Not That Martha

4 Responses to “Sweet Potato Mash with Blue Cheese”

  1. Momma October 19, 2010 at 9:52 PM #

    They were delicious and honestly better than a sweeter version!

  2. Momma October 20, 2010 at 6:27 PM #

    I’m making these tonight. Yum yum.

  3. Anna October 28, 2010 at 1:37 PM #

    Okay, I have my supplies purchased and I’m giving it a whirl tonight…..I mean, really, who can resist blue cheese? Mixed with sweet taters? Perrrrfection.

    • notthatmartha October 28, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

      Anna,
      Let me know how it goes! Did you have fun at that TBF? Congrats on your book!!!
      Thanks for reading.
      MP

Leave a Reply

