Baba, Meet Flat Bread.

8 Sep

Hi Everyone!

Babaganoush, babaganoush. I loved it before I ever had it. I believe it is one of the best words ever to say, I love the way it rolls around in my mouth like a word I made up when I was a kid. I want to name our next pet Baba. And, the stuff is good to boot! I had a very serious moment with Jo this weekend, earnestly telling her how I would miss eggplant when it goes out of season. We have really bonded over the last few months, eggplant and I. This much maligned vegetable is really quite versatile and easy going. It performs very well on the grill and is happy to be roasted with a little olive oil and salt. It can be a steady foundation for caponata or the star of babaganoush. I encourage you all to go grab some eggplant this weekend at your farmers market and have some fun before its season comes to an end.

Babaganoush

3 medium sized eggplant
olive oil
1-2 cloves garlic
1 t tahini
2 T lemon juice
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 375
Cut the eggplant in half, rub cut side with oil and sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Put in oven and roast for 25-30 minutes, or until eggplant is super tender.  Let them come to room temp before handling, no burns please. Using a regular kitchen spoon, scoop everything but the skin into the body of a food processor. (this sentence nearly read: scoop the flesh into the body of the … people could really get the wrong idea about this blog!) Drain off excess water. Add tahini, raw garlic and lemon juice. Pulse a couple of times to blend. Taste. Season with salt and pepper. Fresh oregano would be great with this. I like to serve this in a bowl topped with good olive oil and fresh flat bread.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Flat Bread (adapted from PHAIDON Recipes from an Italian Summer)
5 1/2 c AP flour
2 t. baking powder
1/4 c butter
1 T salt
1-2 c warm water
olive oil, for pan
Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add butter and as much warm water as needed to mix a springy dough, knead until dough is smooth. Set in warm spot in the kitchen, cover and let rise for 30 minutes.
Using a plain old knife or a  bench knife , divide the dough into 12 pieces. Roll them into thin rounds, using a floured surface. Brush a skillet with oil. Add rounds. Cook for a couple of minutes on each side. Serve immediately with the baba. Or, skip this step entirely and use your preferred baba delivery vehicle.
An update on our challenge…Things are going pretty well a week into the consumption challenge. I have had to fight some pretty serious breakfast taco cravings, but the homemade variety are working just great, with the bonus of knowing that I am eating Salmonella free eggs from local farms. I have only caught Jo looking dreamily through the Anthropologie catalogue once. And, together we are tackling a never ending stream of dishes coming from the kitchen. I think that is going to drive me the most crazy.

As always, thanks for reading.
Not That Martha
PS You will notice the upgraded photos are back. A giant thanks to Sarah Wilson for the gorgeousness.
PPS This is me and Sarah Wilson, having some fun with photos and food.

3 Responses to “Baba, Meet Flat Bread.”

  1. Codie September 8, 2010 at 3:37 PM #

    YUMMMMOOO!!! I love babaG! Finally, my sweet Martha P, a recipe I can make. My vegan heart soars!

    Love you sweetness
    Codie

  2. Teresa Tomlinson September 8, 2010 at 4:57 PM #

    Love the Blog Martha, it is sooo nice to be able to keep up with you way up here in North Pole Alaska, love the recipes and the photos. I have been hitting the farmer’s market hard up here and it is sad to think by the end of Sept they will all be closed and packed up for the winter. 😦

  3. Tiffany September 16, 2010 at 12:15 PM #

    Love the photo tour of your efforts! Makes everything look absolutely possible!

Leave a Reply

