Peach Ice Cream Topper

28 Jul

Hi everyone!

The influx of peaches has continued. I picked up a fresh load of peaches from my folks last weekend. There had to have been 15 of them! They all needed to be used quickly and I have been wanting to experiment with jams and preserves, so this presented the perfect opportunity. I cut the peaches up and put them in a pot on the stove with brown sugar and some cinnamon and let them go. What I wound up with wasn’t jam, per se, but the perfect topping for ice cream. It is successful on toast with butter, more in the dessert way than the breakfast way though. It is a caramelly delicious treat that sits proud atop a scoop (or two) of your favorite vanilla ice cream. It is one of those things that taunts me from the fridge until the vessel is empty. I have had to pass jars out to friends and family, just so I don’t make myself sick.

The recipe is super simple and great for your peaches that aren’t the show boats, I cut around bruises and other blemishes and the “jam” didn’t mind at all.

3 lbs fresh peaches
2 c brown sugar
1 t cinnamon
2 T lemon juice

Combine the peaches, brown sugar and cinnamon in a pot over medium heat. Let simmer for 20-25 minutes, or until burnt orange color is achieved. Remove from heat and add lemon juice to add a brightness. I store this in mason jars. Keep in the refrigerator for up to a week.

Try, enjoy, and report back!

Thanks for reading,

Not That Martha

***Please notice the new photography! I am thrilled to thank ultra supportive friend and uber-talented photographer, Sarah Wilson! Click on her name to visit her website.***

3 Responses to “Peach Ice Cream Topper”

  1. Jo July 28, 2010 at 2:56 PM #

    Darling, it was a fun evening when you made this for us! So good!
    I love your guts!
    Jo
    P.S. Sarah’s portrait of you is so HOT.

  2. Sonya July 28, 2010 at 4:01 PM #

    Great recipe! I’m going to have to try it. I love fresh peaches and I’m excited to extend the shelf-life of them.

  3. Tiffany August 3, 2010 at 2:47 PM #

    We loved this!

Leave a Reply

