Blueberry and Peach Tart

9 Jul

It is proof of the divine that blueberries and peaches conspire to ripen together. I love this flavor combination more than I can properly tell you. There is a lot of sense-memory imbedded in these flavors. I remember them on my Mom’s homemade granola growing up. And my first attempts at baking involved peach and blueberry cobbler. I love each on its own, but the tart bite of the peach with the almost creamy sweet of the blueberry does something extra special for me. So now I have graduated to crust-making. This is an art that must be felt and practiced. It requires finesse. I started mine in a food processor, but quickly moved it all to the bowl and dug my hands in. One of the things I love best about cooking is the tactile business of it. It gives me permission to make a mess and play with my food. So, back to the crust…butter is the key here. Butter insists on being treated right or the crust just won’t behave. The butter must be ice cold, cut into pieces, and incorporated quickly with just the finger tips. Then, the butter needs to rest. God, I love butter.

The peaches I used today were grown by my proud father. The blueberries delivered to my door by Farm House Delivery. The honey from the downtown farmers market, gorgeous Guajillo honey from the good folks at Thunderheart. I used Alice Waters’ recipe for the pastry dough from The Art of Simple Food, a book I would save in the event of a fire.

I am satisfied with round one of pie dough making, but I have a long way to go. So, just get in there and try it! Channel that kid that sits inside of you (or the real live ones running around your table) and get your hands in the food. Make a real mess!

Now for the recipe. (makes 2 tarts!)

For the dough:

1/2 cup ice-cold water

2 cups AP flour

1/2 t. salt

1 1/2 sticks of cold cold butter, cut into 1/4″ pieces

For the filling:

4-5 peaches, sliced

1 cup blueberries

2 T guajillo honey

1/2 t cinnamon

For topping:

1/4 cup chopped almond

2 T dark brown sugar

Using finger tips,  combine the butter, flour and salt. Work quickly until a sandy texture is achieved. Pea-sized butter chunks are good because it makes the dough flakey. If using a food processor, pulse butter flour and salt together until sandy texture is achieved. At this point, add about half of the ice water. Look for the dough to just come together and form a ball when pressed together, so keep adding the water until this consistency is achieved (all water may not be used). Divide the crust into 2 even parts, wrap it in plastic and smash it into a disc, then put it in the refridgerator to chill for an hour or so.

While the dough is chilling, combine filling ingredients.

Once dough is chilled, flour a counter top, top of the dough and rolling pin. Working from the middle, roll dough out until desired thinness. I like to roll mine into a rectangle. Place filling in the middle of rectangle and fold together. Top with almonds and dark brown sugar. Bake on 375 for 30 minutes or until golden brown.

*Alternatively, take a short cut and drive to the store and purchase some ready made dough and scratch make the filling.

Thanks for reading!

Not That Martha

PS Thanks to my Tomato Class! That sure was a fun group. And, I still have a couple of spots available for next week’s Squash Class.

10 Responses to “Blueberry and Peach Tart”

  1. Mother July 9, 2010 at 3:03 PM #

    I can hardly wait to make this recipe. I may just have to cheat and buy the dough. Aunt Les makes the BEST crust. she should give us both a lesson. Dad will be so proud that we are savoring those peaches. What a crop this year!

    • notthatmartha July 9, 2010 at 4:25 PM #

      i want a tutorial by aunt les! see if we can make that happen!

  2. Jo July 9, 2010 at 3:04 PM #

    Darling, it was delicious! You got the finesse!

    • notthatmartha July 9, 2010 at 4:25 PM #

      mine, thank you for being my number one tester!

  3. Martha Small Dyess July 9, 2010 at 4:19 PM #

    Wowza- you are speaking my language. Just had a peach am hour ago and craving more.
    May I stop by for a slice?????

  4. km July 9, 2010 at 5:45 PM #

    i am hungry for this blog.

  5. Emily Rios July 9, 2010 at 7:03 PM #

    Will definitely use this recipe when our Nectarine tree gives us her multitude of goodness this year! Also, would love to accompany you to Chez Panisse next time you are out here. Delish! Cheers to you!

  6. Catherine July 10, 2010 at 12:41 PM #

    Will you do a dough class?…I am afraid of dough (to make that is, not to eat 🙂

    • notthatmartha July 12, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

      studley,
      a dough class is an excellent idea! i will put that in the next batch of them…
      thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

