Birthday Smoothie, Texas Style!

1 Jul

birthday breakfast!

Today is the day that some years ago, my love was born. This is the first birthday that we have gotten to celebrate together, so I want to make it a special one! She is the very best one, so we had to start this day off right!

The cinnamon rolls from Russell’s Bakery are irresitable to me and I will use just about any reason as an excuse to have them, enter said birthday. When I was putting the plate together in my head, there were strawberries on it, the perfect tart for all of that cinnamony sweet. Alas, the strawberries are no longer in season. I stomped my feet (in my head) for a few seconds before remembering that I bought a bag of frozen strawberries last time I was at Boggy Creek Farm. Well, frozen strawberries alone wouldn’t work and this is where my glorious bushel from Farm House Delivery comes into play. Yesterday among the cucumbers, fresh peas, tomatoes and corn, were blueberries and peaches. I usually have White Mountain Yogurt on hand, so the smoothie ingredients were all present and accounted for. I admittedly cheated on Texas by adding a banana, please forgive me. To pull the smoothie together and allow for blending, I use hibiscus tea. It isn’t as sweet as juice, so it really lets the fruit shine. Plus, I try to find any excuse to drink the stuff. It is high in Vitamin C and void of caffeine.  The smoothie turned out tart with just enough sweet to pair nicely with the buttery, divine cinnamon roll.

On another note, I have been rotating through Owl Tree‘s products. This week we have Bird’s Blend. The homage to the Austin-style barbershop is mellow and smooth and I highly recommend it!

Here is the recipe:

Easily serves 4

1 cup hibiscus tea

1/2 cup White Mountain Yogurt

1 cup frozen (or fresh) strawberries

1 cup blueberries

1 peach

1 banana

a couple scoops of ice

honey to taste

(if I want protein, I add a big old scoop of peanut butter and it is really good)

Place all ingredients in a blender and buzz away until ice is all crushed up and drink is smooth (get it?). HA!

Enjoy!

And, Happy Birthday to my Jo!

2 Responses to “Birthday Smoothie, Texas Style!”

  1. tryityoumightlikeit July 2, 2010 at 12:22 PM #

    I’ve been addicted to smoothies lately. I like the idea of including tea. That gives me all kinds of great flavor combos. I like the way you write about your food.

  2. T^Dawg July 6, 2010 at 10:04 AM #

    I was fortunate enough to try Sweet Martha’s yummy B-day smoothie, it was delicious! Not so sweet your teeth hurt, but sweet enough that your tummy was thanking you.
    Of course by the time I got the cinnamon roll it had gone past its shining moment, but I could definately taste enough goodness to know when it was fresh it probably curled your toes.
    Thanks for the blog Sweet Martha! Love you, keep making Jo smile!

Leave a Reply

