My very first blog….

9 Jun

Well, I have never done this before and it feels weird to me in the way that writing in a diary does. But, here goes…

This blog is to be about food. Loving food, growing food, eating food, teaching food and feeding people. I love the stuff. I need the stuff. And I embrace that which is grown responsibly and prepared as close to the source as possible.

My journey with food started approximately 33 years ago, when I was born. At one year old I would raise unholy hell until my morning toast (OT, as I called it then) arrived. I wake up with the same sense of panic for my first meal. I hardly count as a functional adult until that morning hunger has been addressed.

This morning I managed to take myself to the lovely Boggy Creek Farm and do my shopping before satisfying that need, but it was worth the wait. At long last the tomatoes are here and they are glorious. Barrie of barriebakes.com (the most talented bread person in this fine town, if you ask me), was there and I was able to secure her second to last loaf of ciabatta. All of the Pure Luck cheeses were in stock and I chose the old reliably delicious cheve and last but certainly not least, the eggs. Farm fresh eggs are like gold to me. The basket was overflowing and I had to talk myself down from holding them up to break the 6 egg per person limit.
We were out of coffee, so I hit Progress Coffee on my way home for a pound of Owl Tree Roasted Sumatra blend, then home to make everything right with the world.

The perfect ciabatta required nothing more than slicing, the same was true for the cherokee purple heirloom tomato, I spread a coat of cheve on the bread, stacked with two fine slices of the tomato perfection topped with an over easy farm egg and breakfast was served.
The coffee proved to be more challenging, due to an eff up the City of Austin, our water was shut off this morning. Thanks city! But fear not, I had two barely sipped Nalgene bottles that gave us just enough water to brew the coffee.

Since then, the day has been lovely and I am quite enjoying this rain.

18 Responses to “My very first blog….”

  1. Sarah Wilson June 9, 2010 at 5:33 PM #

    Martha-

    You’ve made me hungry! I totally meant to head down to Boggy Creek this morning, but I didn’t. Sounds like you’ve hit the tomato, egg, and bread jackpot! I can’t wait for our squash class tomorrow.

    xo-

    S

  2. Emily Covey June 9, 2010 at 7:33 PM #

    Like what you got cookin’, Martita. Good luck with the blog and the new venture. The Coveys are adding Boggy Creek to the to-do list. 🙂

  3. Ann Henson June 9, 2010 at 8:23 PM #

    First I love your blog title! Second I wish I lived in Austin so I (or all of us) could come over for meals…. Sounds delightful, fresh and you may inspire me to finally cook…!!! Keep it up Marfy
    hugs
    a

  4. Margy Tettleton June 9, 2010 at 8:26 PM #

    Well, it’s about damn time! We need to set a date for you to come here and bring some of that bread you’re talking about. Delish!

  5. Kat June 9, 2010 at 8:51 PM #

    marfy!!!! lauren let me know about this. love hearing about our first love….FOOD! i’m in town the 4th of july. hope i get to see you. this is great!! keep it coming. and come to nyc so we can go to blue hill stone barns! xo

  6. Mother June 9, 2010 at 9:59 PM #

    Congratulations on setting up your blog and your business! Reading it makes me excited to wake up in the morning and fix a delicious breakfast. I am hungry after reading.

  7. Chad Covey June 9, 2010 at 10:04 PM #

    Progress is good.

  8. Jo June 9, 2010 at 11:15 PM #

    That was an amazing breakfast, my love! I can’t wait to have it again tomorrow.

    You got a gift! That’s for sure!

    I love your guts!
    Jo

  9. carrie elkin June 9, 2010 at 11:53 PM #

    YES!
    thanks for sharing. can’t wait for more……..
    LOVE. c

  10. Neissa June 10, 2010 at 3:34 PM #

    I LOVE your blog Martha!! You’re my favorite chef and I can’t wait to read your entries!! Congratulations!

  11. Anne Giles June 10, 2010 at 4:21 PM #

    Great new effort for you, Martha P (as you used to be known around you-know-where). I will enjoy following you and your tummy and your talent. Big hungry love to you!

  12. Seaness June 12, 2010 at 3:00 PM #

    Tengo hambre.

  13. John Bass June 12, 2010 at 7:04 PM #

    I got sweaty hands reading it.

  14. Trudie June 15, 2010 at 5:41 PM #

    Hey Sweet Martha, for not feeling comfortable blogging I’d say you did a great job! It was funny, and descriptive, I enjoyed it. Even if the food you cook is Mega healthy and beyond my baby taste buds! Keep up the great work Lady!

  15. Addie Broyles June 30, 2010 at 11:43 AM #

    Hey, Martha! So glad to have found your blog through Farmhouse Delivery. If you’re interested in hooking up with other Austin food bloggers, check out the Austin Food Bloggers group on Facebook, which is where we organize potlucks, happy hours, etc. http://bit.ly/austinfoodbloggers

    It’s a super supportive community of home cooks, professional chefs and eaters! Looking forward to reading more…

    Addie Broyles
    Austin American-Statesman

    • notthatmartha July 1, 2010 at 10:18 AM #

      Addie,
      Thank you so much for the suggestion. I have signed up on the FB page. Thank you for reading! I am a fan of yours.
      Best,
      MP

  16. Dotti Driver July 9, 2010 at 3:57 PM #

    Hi Martha,
    Love the title of your blog! It’s fun and informative and I like reading it. Keep up the good work. Dotti

Leave a Reply

