Fancy Ranch Water

17 Mar

Hi Everyone,

Once in a while I come across a recipe that sends me directly to the kitchen to give it a whirl. I came across one such recipe recently from 101 Cookbooks here. I had to sub honey for cane sugar and we have grapefruit and oranges a plenty, so I made due with what was in the kitchen. The results were crowd-pleasing to say the very least and when I added Republic Tequila and a little Topo Chico, it became my very favorite after 5PM drink for the spring. It takes very little time and is so worth it. We are on our third batch of the juice and I suspect it won’t be our last…

Fancy Ranch Water

3 T honey

2 T ginger, grated

1 c water

Bring to a boil, reduce to simmer and let it go for 5 minutes. Strain it, then stick in the fridge or freezer to let cool off.

1 orange, juiced

3 grapefruits, juiced

Once the syrup is cooled down, mix in the juice. At this point you can serve it to your kids OR do this… Put ice in some glasses, add a shot of Republic Tequila to each glass, pour a two shots worth of the juice in and top it off with Topo Chico. It is scary good.

The Republic Tequila folks are a Texas-based company and have a green and organic product that is completely delicious. Owners, Tom and Ken, took time out of their insane schedules to teach a really inspiring session at the RISE program that I was smart enough to attend. They are energetic, charismatic and wise in the business way and it was an honor to get to soak up a little of that wisdom. Not to mention I ran right to the store for a bottle of the tequila, so they are pretty good salesmen too! So, big ups to them!

If you aren’t familiar with Topo Chico, it is the Mexican fizzy water that dreams are made of and I think you should run out and get some right now.

And one more thing. I met Tiffany of Trailer Food Diaries fame and found out that she has a cookbook coming out. You can get it at a discount right now.  We have that sucker pre-ordered. Soon we will be able to satisfy our trailer food cravings in the comfort of our own home, and you can bet that there are some trailer food cravings up in this house!

All of that said, have a great weekend and enjoy whatever it is you are up to!

Not That Martha

5 Responses to “Fancy Ranch Water”

  1. Margy March 17, 2011 at 10:12 PM #

    I’d serve it to Louise sans the tequila if she didn’t already think fruit was the devil. She’d be really pissed if i gave her grapefruit juice (no matter if it was refined sugar or honey- she only likes honey with peanut butter). HOWEVER I will try this for myself. I know I’m crazy and I miss you. I’ll make it your way soon. Keep chugging on the blog. I love it!

    • notthatmartha March 18, 2011 at 9:27 AM #

      Marg, I hope you and Van love it! Or, come on over and I’ll make it for you! Please, I miss you!!!

  2. Hilah March 23, 2011 at 12:07 PM #

    Holy Hell, this sounds incredible. I hereby declare this my drink for the weekend of March 25!

    • notthatmartha March 23, 2011 at 1:52 PM #

      that is badass. thanks!

      • Hilah April 9, 2011 at 11:06 AM #

        I’m making it again today but this time added lemongrass to the ginger syrup! Wheeee!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

